RC India
Welcome Guest, please login or register.
 
Pages: [1]   Go Down
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Topic Tools Topic Tools 
Read
« on: July 09, 2010, 07:43:17 PM »
rohitgupta322
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
rohitgupta322 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Illinois, USA
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 986
Join Date: Feb, 2010




I have just finished my first scratch build plane. But there has been a prob. When i connected a fully charged lipo battery to esc, everything at first worked fine. The motor worked fine for the first time, then i reduced the throttle to zero and the motor stopped, but when i again moved the throttle forward, the motor behaved abnormally, like it made fraction of revolutions clockwise, then anticlockwise and so on, it did not make full turns . Then i disconnected the battery and i reconnected it, the same problem appeared. Again i disconnected and reconnected and the problem disappeared, everything worked fine. So, the situation seems very abnormal, sometimes the problem appears sometimes everything works fine. Dnt know whats going on?
My motor: A2212-10, esc- dys 20amp purchased from sai sir.
The servos work fine.
Logged

Be Inquisitive
 

Read
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 08:52:17 PM »
rohitgupta322
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
rohitgupta322 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Illinois, USA
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 986
Join Date: Feb, 2010



The motor also suddenly stops after running and starts to make slight clockwise or anticlockwise movements haphazardly. The esc is suppose to make a series of tones(noise) as soon as i plug in the battery, sometimes it does, sometimes doesnt and it also gets hot very fast.
Logged

Be Inquisitive
 

Read
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 09:23:03 PM »
praveen
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran

****

Reputation Power: 5 
praveen has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Bengaluru
State: Karnataka
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 422
Join Date: Aug, 2009



which prop are u using and check whether motor heats abnormally!
Logged

To increase thrust you need more  money! But to reduce weight you  need nothing!
 

Read
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 09:37:15 PM »
rohitgupta322
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
rohitgupta322 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Illinois, USA
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 986
Join Date: Feb, 2010



No the motor doesnt heat. I am using an 8*6 prop(GWS). I know there is nothing wrong with the compatibility of all electronics with each other because they were all suggested by Sai uncle.
Logged

Be Inquisitive
 

Read
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2010, 10:01:36 PM »
bmanoj2
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran

****

Reputation Power: 4 
bmanoj2 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Dubai, UAE
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 372
Join Date: May, 2010



Please make sure to keep your throttle at zero before connecting to battery. Then wait for few seconds until the beeping is over. Then move the throttle or you will go to program mode. Please check and make sure all you soldering points are correct without any loose contact. Switch on the TX first.
Logged

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow."
 

Read
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2010, 10:10:46 PM »
anwar
Administrator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 141 
anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!
Offline Offline

City: Doha (Qatar) & Thrissur
State: Kerala
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 11618
Join Date: Mar, 2009

RC India - Flying and racing with open minds !



ESC getting hot and cutting off (or struggling) can be an indication of too much amps draw.  Now amps draw can be unusually high if the wrong prop is used or if if the motor is bad. You need to double check any soldering you did also.

The simplest is to see if a higher amps ESC solves this issue, if you have one handy (or if you can borrow one from someone just for testing)
« Last Edit: July 09, 2010, 10:55:18 PM by anwar » Logged

Hangar : Please see my introduction.
RC India forum and me : About this forum.
 

Read
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2010, 10:21:03 PM »
bmanoj2
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran

****

Reputation Power: 4 
bmanoj2 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Dubai, UAE
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 372
Join Date: May, 2010



May be the weight of the model also to be checked Anwar Gi ??
Logged

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow."
 

Read
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2010, 10:56:58 PM »
anwar
Administrator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 141 
anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!
Offline Offline

City: Doha (Qatar) & Thrissur
State: Kerala
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 11618
Join Date: Mar, 2009

RC India - Flying and racing with open minds !



Of course ! That is the first thing to check in such cases. But I thought the testing was being done on the ground and not by flying the model in this case.
Logged

Hangar : Please see my introduction.
RC India forum and me : About this forum.
 

Read
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2010, 11:36:02 PM »
bmanoj2
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran

****

Reputation Power: 4 
bmanoj2 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Dubai, UAE
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 372
Join Date: May, 2010



You are spot on It looks like test done on the ground only as you suggested, so weight factor is not in picture  Smiley
Logged

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow."
 

Read
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2010, 12:13:58 AM »
rc
Plane Lover
Active Member
**

Reputation Power: 1 
rc has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: delhi
State: Delhi
RC Skills: Intermediate
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jun, 2010



esc problem for sure
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2010, 06:58:44 AM »
vinay
Global Moderator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 20 
vinay barely matters.vinay barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1740
Join Date: Sep, 2009



There are 3 wires connecting the ESC to the motor. If one of the wires is not connected Properly then For sure this problem happens. There can be 2 faulty items.

1)The electronics of One of the wires of the ESC that is generating the pulses is gone bad. Usually this is not the problem.

2)One of the wires that are connected to the motor is not connected properly. This is usually the problem! Make sure all are connected properly. First time your motor ran and next time due to vibrations one of the wires may have got disconnected. The wire may also be cut somewhere near or inside the motor so take your call and examine this properly. Try soldering the wire directly to the ESC and try.

Note that when the motor is doing this kind of to and fro motion, increasing the throttle will definitely fry the motor in seconds. So dont throttle up more than required till the problem is fixed.  Thumbs Up

Also sometime changing the ESC timings also have solved problems for many.  Smiley But don't play with timings unless its a big motor. Small motor and high timings some times dont match and burn up.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 07:06:45 AM by vinay » Logged
 

Read
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2010, 07:24:44 AM »
prateek13
FPV Mission Man
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 14 
prateek13 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Dona Paula, Panaji
State: Goa
RC Skills: Intermediate
Posts: 1099
Join Date: May, 2010



same happens with me! Bang Head Bang Head Bang Head
but as told by vinay the solution is clear Thumbs Up Bow Clap
Logged

Award | OFNA Nexx8 | Art-Tech Edge 540T | Glidiator V2 | Hawker Tempest | Cessna Citation Jet
Turnigy 9X
FPV Platforms : CF Tricopter| HK EPP FPV | Bixler 1 | Bixler 2 | DJI Phantom 2 +H3 3D
 

Read
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2010, 10:10:48 AM »
vinay
Global Moderator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 20 
vinay barely matters.vinay barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1740
Join Date: Sep, 2009



Here is a video of the behavior. I have personally experienced this at home on the same turnigy motor. But after connecting the leads properly, it worked SIMPLY FINE!

Logged
 

Read
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2010, 05:07:26 PM »
bmanoj2
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran

****

Reputation Power: 4 
bmanoj2 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Dubai, UAE
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 372
Join Date: May, 2010



WOW I have never seen a smoking Motor Giggle
Logged

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow."
 

Read
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2010, 10:34:17 PM »
rohitgupta322
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
rohitgupta322 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Illinois, USA
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 986
Join Date: Feb, 2010



Whoa, thanks so much everybody especially vinay bhaiya. The problem is fixed, actually the soldering of one of the wires which connects the esc to the motor came loose and hence resulted in the problem. As instructed, i directly soldered the esc and motor wires and now everything just works perfect. Thumbs Up Thumbs Up Clap Clap Grin. And i was lucky enough not to fry the motor.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 10:35:52 PM by rohitgupta322 » Logged

Be Inquisitive
 

Read
« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2010, 11:03:49 PM »
anwar
Administrator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 141 
anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!
Offline Offline

City: Doha (Qatar) & Thrissur
State: Kerala
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 11618
Join Date: Mar, 2009

RC India - Flying and racing with open minds !



Good news. 

Vinay - Did you mean to say that your smoked motor still worked fine leaving no permanent damage to it ?  So what generated the smoke ? Only insulating wax etc inside ? Head Scratching
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 11:17:46 PM by anwar » Logged

Hangar : Please see my introduction.
RC India forum and me : About this forum.
 

Read
« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2010, 05:58:16 AM »
vinay
Global Moderator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 20 
vinay barely matters.vinay barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1740
Join Date: Sep, 2009



No Anwar Bhai, I did not smoke my motor, I was already aware of such problems before it even occurred Wink. Thanks for the Forums, Youtube and moderators and all the helping people around Thumbs Up

I believe the smoking happens as the energy provided by the ESC does not get dissipated as the motor does not turn and this undissipated energy turns to heat. Imagine all that energy in terms of 200 to 300 watts thats provided to the motor thats twice the size of our thumbs(its almost equvalent to 5 times of what our ceiling fans consume at full speed Shocked)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 06:30:35 AM by vinay » Logged
 

Read
« Reply #17 on: July 11, 2010, 11:22:01 AM »
vineet
Heli Lover
Forum Hero
*****

Reputation Power: 20 
vineet barely matters.vineet barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: delhi
State: Delhi
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 1584
Join Date: Mar, 2010



your  plane fly
Logged

 

Read
« Reply #18 on: July 11, 2010, 09:35:33 PM »
rohitgupta322
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
rohitgupta322 has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Illinois, USA
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 986
Join Date: Feb, 2010



your  plane fly
I need to do minor adjustments with the CG. Hope to get the maiden flight tommorow if it doesn't rain here in Kolkata.
Logged

Be Inquisitive
 

Read
« Reply #19 on: July 11, 2010, 10:08:42 PM »
dileepbalan
Plane Lover
Senior Member

***

Reputation Power: 3 
dileepbalan has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Coimbatore / Vaikom, Kottayam, Kerala
State: Kerala
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 178
Join Date: May, 2010



Also sometime changing the ESC timings also have solved problems for many.

Hi Vinay,
Please explain how we can change the ESC timings?

How to choose best ESC + motor combination ? for ex. Model: TR35-30-B having Max. efficiency current : 10~15A. So, ESC with just above 23A (15A * 1.5 = 22.5 ) could be a best choice?

Pls add your valuable suggestions?

Regards
Dileep
Logged

Spektrum DX6i | AXN Floater-Jet
 

Read
« Reply #20 on: July 11, 2010, 10:37:51 PM »
anwar
Administrator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 141 
anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!anwar is awe-inspiring!
Offline Offline

City: Doha (Qatar) & Thrissur
State: Kerala
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 11618
Join Date: Mar, 2009

RC India - Flying and racing with open minds !



Do not mess with timing unless you are forced.  Since your problem is solved, it is better to leave the timing alone Smiley

It is done the same way most ESCs are programmed... you can find related discussion here :

http://www.rcindia.org/electric-power/esc-programming/msg8000/#msg8000

A commonly used rule of thumb for ESC selection is to add 20% to the peak amps drawn by the motor... so look at the motor/prop combo and lookup the motors datasheet, that should tell you the amps draw.  But if the AUW of your plane is not within the power/wattage range of the motor, all of this is irrelevant, and something would end up getting damaged.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 10:41:18 PM by anwar » Logged

Hangar : Please see my introduction.
RC India forum and me : About this forum.
 

Read
« Reply #21 on: July 11, 2010, 10:45:29 PM »
vinay
Global Moderator
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 20 
vinay barely matters.vinay barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1740
Join Date: Sep, 2009



Yup you are right, 1.35 to 1.5X seems to be good. BTW You can use any ESC that has Max amps less than the Burst amps of the motor (to be on the safer side). YOu can change the timings using a programming card or do a stick programming using the ESC manual. Though you dont need to change the timing if your setup is already good.

Also remember that some times some ESCs dont match up with some motors at all and give a lot of trouble. Though this is rare, this knowledge of mismatch comes only with experience / reading on the net before buying.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 10:57:59 PM by vinay » Logged
 

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
How to test a reciever for problem and how to fix any problem.
Electric Power
me-my-parts 11 5627 Last post January 09, 2010, 11:48:33 PM
by jerry
problem with my fly dragonfly 2006 rc heli
Helis
flyinghawk 23 11068 Last post September 09, 2011, 09:33:32 AM
by vineet
Help with Heli problem
Helis
ANTA 8 2905 Last post May 21, 2010, 08:08:52 PM
by ANTA
imaxRC B4 Pro charger problem
Batteries and Chargers
ANTA 2 3146 Last post October 26, 2010, 01:36:08 AM
by KALYANPRODHAN
Motor problem
Electric Power
naatumach 6 3457 Last post January 10, 2011, 02:44:20 PM
by naatumach