RC India
Welcome Guest, please login or register.
 
Pages: [1]   Go Down
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Topic Tools Topic Tools 
Read
« on: November 11, 2017, 04:45:36 PM »
R0han
Plane Lover
Active Member
**

Reputation Power: 1 
R0han has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: pune
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 8
Join Date: May, 2013




Hey guys I'm trying to build my own quadcopter. I have gone through a few posts and selected the following components and attached the image.
can you all please go through the components and tell me your views.

I'm based in pune, and if possible would like to buy parts from here itself rather than online. I know only of RCbazzar located near baner.

Also, I want it to lift at least 1Kgs and hover for sometime.


parts.jpg
New build help
* parts.jpg (31.06 KB, 800x255 - viewed 117 times.)
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2017, 06:20:33 PM »
Dharmik
Heli Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
Dharmik has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Bharuch
State: Gujarat
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1038
Join Date: Sep, 2011



From the list first thing you need is higher mAh battery. If you are new to the multirotor I wouldn't recommend you to try CC3D. You have to tune it a lot to get perfect PIDs.
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 10:35:10 AM »
R0han
Plane Lover
Active Member
**

Reputation Power: 1 
R0han has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: pune
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 8
Join Date: May, 2013



From the list first thing you need is higher mAh battery. If you are new to the multirotor I wouldn't recommend you to try CC3D. You have to tune it a lot to get perfect PIDs.

Thank you , Dharmik!, yes, I'm a new to multirotors. Which flight controller do you recommend Huh?

Also, I have access to a FABLAB, will this board work ?? https://github.com/satshakit/satshakit-flight-controller

I was aiming for stable hovering. Also about the battery. How much amps do you recommend Huh?

Cheers!
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2017, 07:21:51 PM »
Swapnil
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 20 
Swapnil barely matters.Swapnil barely matters.
Offline Offline

City: Nagpur
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1726
Join Date: May, 2010

Retreat, Hell!



Rohan,
from my own experiences and from loads of beginner posts on this forum, I'd advice you against building your own frame. A ready-made frame will add a bit to your expenses but it will save you a lot of headache.
A PVC frame will not only give bad flight characteristics but will also have higher chances of crashing and damaging your expensive electronic components. 

You'll need at least a 2200mAh battery. The C rating does not need to be higher than 35C for your setup.
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2017, 11:47:16 AM »
swapnilnimbalkar
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran
****

Reputation Power: 3 
swapnilnimbalkar has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Thane
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 258
Join Date: Nov, 2016



From the list first thing you need is higher mAh battery. If you are new to the multirotor I wouldn't recommend you to try CC3D. You have to tune it a lot to get perfect PIDs.


I was aiming for stable hovering.


I had asked this question (stable hover) to Swapnil above.  This is how he explained it me.

That depends on the height and external conditions. If the quad is high enough to be not affected by its own prop-wash, it will hold  a better hover.  Also, the less the wind the more stable the craft.  Again, these are ideal scenarios.  In reality for a really stable hove you will need a combination of alititude sensor (LIDAR for best results) and a rtk GPS or image processing system for position hold.
In low wind conditions, a good GPS (multiple sat systems receiver) will give a good enough hover.

I am really thankful to him for this ton of info.
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2017, 07:15:54 PM »
R0han
Plane Lover
Active Member
**

Reputation Power: 1 
R0han has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: pune
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 8
Join Date: May, 2013



Agreed, I'll get a DJI F450 frame. What about the flight controller ?? How about Naze32 or KK2.1.5 ?

I read people saying that Naze32 is hard to setup but very useful in the long run.

I'm upgrading battery to 2200 mah 25C
« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 07:40:18 PM by R0han » Logged
 

Read
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2017, 08:02:43 PM »
Dharmik
Heli Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 12 
Dharmik has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Bharuch
State: Gujarat
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1038
Join Date: Sep, 2011



Naze32 and CC3D both are advanced flight controller but they are hard to tune and you will have to keep laptop with you to have correction in gain on field. Sometimes it takes so much time and flights. KK2.1.5 has advantage of lcd screen you can change gain and other settings quickly on the field. Default settings are good enough to work out of the the box and keeping self level on you can get good hover with minor stick correction.
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2017, 09:28:27 AM »
Linxiaolu
Heli Lover
Active Member
**

Reputation Power: 1 
Linxiaolu has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Shenzhen,China
State: OUTSIDE INDIA
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct, 2017



I have Gens ace 2200mAh Battery, 2S-3S, 20C-40C..
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2017, 02:43:25 PM »
Imperial fire
Plane Lover
Senior Member

***

Reputation Power: 4 
Imperial fire has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Sangamner
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Intermediate
Posts: 220
Join Date: Feb, 2017

Keep calm and fly safe.



I was wondering..why is pid tuning needed..isn't there a board that just connects the esc to it...and just flies them just like that....I mean just solder and fly.....
Never flown quads B4..just had me thinking....
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2017, 04:19:03 PM »
rcrcnitesh
Plane Lover
Forum Hero

*****

Reputation Power: 21 
rcrcnitesh barely matters.rcrcnitesh barely matters.
Online Online

City: Chennai
State: Tamil Nadu
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 2071
Join Date: Jul, 2013



Interesting question. That sort of ability requires a certain level of AI requirements and high processing power. Because it has to tune the PID values just like how a human would do it REAL TIME while flying. I believe the PX4 and ardupilot communities are working on this. I am not sure whether they've achieved it. You'll have to use google baba to find out.

Regards
Nitesh

EDIT: It can be done but has certain limitations. The copter needs to be flyable first. Check out the video.



EDIT 2: Found another useful article
http://www.dronetrest.com/t/arducopter-autotune-tips-how-to-get-rock-solid-stabilisation-with-your-multirotor/1551
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 04:29:41 PM by rcrcnitesh » Logged

If there is magic on earth
                    It is in the Air
 

Read
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2017, 04:48:54 PM »
Imperial fire
Plane Lover
Senior Member

***

Reputation Power: 4 
Imperial fire has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Sangamner
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Intermediate
Posts: 220
Join Date: Feb, 2017

Keep calm and fly safe.



Quads are more complicated that ithought...
Gonna stick to one motor and fixed wing for now... Xd
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2017, 05:11:18 PM »
swapnilnimbalkar
Plane Lover
Forum Veteran
****

Reputation Power: 3 
swapnilnimbalkar has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Thane
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 258
Join Date: Nov, 2016



I was wondering..why is pid tuning needed..isn't there a board that just connects the esc to it...and just flies them just like that....I mean just solder and fly.....
Never flown quads B4..just had me thinking....

PID tuning is required because not all quads are same. 

Generally people mix and match the parts and assemble the quad.  So each and every quad is different (except RTF), the manufacturers really dont know what your setup is so they provide you a board with a standard PID settings.

PID tuning is more like "how much salt you like in your curry"

It depends upon personal test.  Someone might want a very agile quad, one might want a very stable quad, so you tune the PID's as per your requirements.

You can directly fly without PID tuning e.g. SP Racing F3 SP is factory tuned for 250 size quad, if you put it on 250 frame it should fly without any tuning. 

Not everyone uses same kv motors, same type of ESC's etc. that is the reason you go for PID tuning.

Swapnil N.
Logged
 

Read
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2017, 09:51:50 PM »
MakerHand
Plane Lover
Active Member

**

Reputation Power: 1 
MakerHand has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Haripal
State: West Bengal
RC Skills: Advanced
Posts: 35
Join Date: Oct, 2017



Hope this will help.

PID.jpg
Re: New build help
* PID.jpg (56.32 KB, 800x450 - viewed 36 times.)
Logged

 

Read
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2017, 09:53:38 PM »
Imperial fire
Plane Lover
Senior Member

***

Reputation Power: 4 
Imperial fire has no influence.
Offline Offline

City: Sangamner
State: Maharashtra
RC Skills: Intermediate
Posts: 220
Join Date: Feb, 2017

Keep calm and fly safe.



@ swapnil... excellent explanation.....
Gonna keep it in mind next time some one asks me about it...esp that salt analogy.... Grin
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 10:42:05 PM by Imperial fire » Logged
 

Read
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2017, 11:26:46 PM »
rastsaurabh
Plane Lover
Forum Hero
*****

Reputation Power: 17 
rastsaurabh has no influence.
Online Online

City: Noida
State: Delhi
RC Skills: Beginner
Posts: 1360
Join Date: Mar, 2012



My 2 cents here .... ( My views)
1. research on motors again there are better motors than DT700
2. If you have made frame or have some experience go ahead and make yours, of course a ready made frame will save lot of trouble.
3. think lots .... what you ultimately want to do  with it. 2200 mah battery will only give around 10 min flight
 than decide on battery and motors.

10 inch pros are good enough for lifting 1.5 Kg quad. ( although its a generic statement ....what i mean here is select related components )

regds
Saurabh
« Last Edit: November 17, 2017, 11:13:42 AM by rastsaurabh » Logged
 

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
CHALLENGER-my first coro build-build log
Electric Planes
prateek13 10 6376 Last post August 03, 2012, 09:16:50 AM
by KALYANPRODHAN
plan build Hangar Rat (build log)
Electric Planes
Bilal 23 14079 Last post November 05, 2014, 11:49:09 PM
by ayub
Su-37 Build - First build issues
Electric Planes
dheerajjuneja 16 4565 Last post April 08, 2013, 06:34:02 PM
by dheerajjuneja
Scratch Build - Pusher Trainer (Build No.2)
Self-designed, DIY and College Projects
chils41 2 3512 Last post June 13, 2014, 04:05:47 AM
by johnywalker8pm
gnome build thread - my first balsa build
Kites, Trains, Free Flight and All Others
Suyash 12 1454 Last post February 19, 2017, 08:23:45 PM
by sanjayrai55